Do you have a suspended Florida drivers license?  Did the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Florida DMV or DHSMV) send notice to you that your license was going to be suspended? If so, contact a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer at 20 Miles Law by calling (904) 564-2525 or email an attorney (Contact Us).

If you are driving on a suspended or revoked license in Jacksonville, you may receive a ticket for this offense.  While driving on a suspended or revoked license may seem like a minor infraction, it is not.  If the Jacksonville traffic ticket was for unknowingly driving on a suspended license, this is a civil infraction.  If you are convicted, you will receive points on your driving record.  A conviction or adjudication of guilt may also be used against you to suspended your license as a Jacksonville habitual traffic offender.  Driving on a suspended or revoked license may be a criminal charge if it was done with knowledge.  A criminal citation may show up on a Florida criminal background check.  It may also be used against you under the Florida Habitual Traffic Offender Law.  If you continue to receive tickets for driving on a suspended license, your license will be suspended for five (5) years as a Habitual Traffic Offender.  If you are caught driving on a suspended license as a habitual traffic offender in Florida, you may be charged with a felony.

Pursuant to Florida Statute 322.34(5), a driver may be charged with this third degree felony if his or her driver’s license has been revoked as a habitual traffic offender. Florida Statute 322.264 lists the traffic offenses that may result in a 5-year drivers license suspension. Among other charges, a HTO suspension will occur when a driver receives three or more convictions for driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license within a five year period.  Section 322.264 states:

A “habitual traffic offender” is any person whose record, as maintained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, shows that such person has accumulated the specified number of convictions for offenses described in subsection (1) or subsection (2) within a 5-year period:
(1) Three or more convictions of any one or more of the following offenses arising out of separate acts:
(a) Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
(b) Any violation of s. 316.193, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01;
(c) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
(d) Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
(e) Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
(f) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified.
(2) Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in s. 322.27, including those offenses in subsection (1).

If your drivers license has been suspended due to tickets received in Duval, Clay, Nassau, or St. Johns County, contact a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer for help. Do not continue to drive while your Florida drivers license is suspended.  An attorney with experience may be able to help you.


Comments are closed.